District Realignment Plan Approved

Effective January 1, 2016

You’ve probably heard about the Heart of America Council’s district realignment plan in some way or another over the past few months. We are excited to report that on June 26, 2015, the Council’s Board of Directors unanimously approved the plan set forth by the realignment task force. The new realignment structure will allow the council to serve more youth within our communities and help us create the best possible Scouting experience for our families and volunteers. The new district realignment structure will…

  • Permit the more effective assignment of Scouting professionals to support volunteers in the delivery of the Scouting program
  • Engage more volunteers in leading the delivery of the Scouting program
  • Encourage more individuals and businesses to give generously to support the delivery of the Scouting program in their communities
  • Encourage school districts to engage cooperatively with council volunteers and professionals to ensure the growth of the Scouting program
  • Increase the number of youth and adults registered in the Scouting program and the number of units that they may choose to join

The new district reorganization will ultimately result in 17 districts across the council. Our current or “Legacy Districts” will continue to operate as normal and deliver the Scouting program until realignment officially goes into effect on January 1, 2016.

As of July 1, 2015, the council’s professional staff was assigned to their “new” district assignments.
Click here for the updated professional assignment listing

*Effective January 1, 2016


  • Divide current North Star District into two districts along Clay/Platte County line
  • Align current Blue Elk District according to school district boundaries
  • Divide current Thunderbird District at the Jackson County line
  • Reorganize the remainder of the current Thunderbird and Lone Bear as two districts, one including Bates and Cass counties and one including the remainder of the current Lone Bear District
  • Reorganize the current four Johnson County Kansas districts into three districts aligned to boundaries of the Shawnee Mission School District, the Blue Valley School District, and the Olathe/DeSoto/Gardner-Edgerton/Spring Hill School Districts
  • Establish a new LDS Administrative District only for administrative functions of membership, finance, and governance. LDS units will maintain a strong relationship with their geographic districts for program and unit service related to program and training consistent with BSA policies.
  • Districts that will see very little or no change in boundaries are: Big Muddy, Exploring, Frontier, Kaw, Pelathe, Pioneer Trails, Twin Rivers

The last significant study of the alignment of districts and resources occurred in 2000. The task force recommends that district realignment be reviewed no less than every five years. The task force recognizes that the hiring of additional professionals will be necessary as the districts grow in membership and units.

Click here to view the full district realignment report