Bartle & Naish Workdays

Sign up HERE for 2024 Bartle and Naish Workdays

Workdays at Bartle Workdays at Naish
January 6, 2024 January 13, 2024                                                       
February 3, 2024 February 10, 2024
March 2, 2024 March 9, 2024
April 6, 2024  Skilled Trades Day April 13, 2024
May 4, 2024  Regular + Camp Staff Workday May 11, 2024
August 3, 2024 August 10, 2024
September 7, 2024 September 14, 2024
October 5, 2024 October 12, 2024
November 2, 2024 November 9, 2024
December 7, 2024 December 14, 2024


The Campmaster Corps began in the Heart of America Council in 1971 at Camp Powell of the Kansas City Area Council. The HOAC Campmaster Corps is comprised of dedicated Scouters volunteering to help the Camp Ranger by providing assistance to the guests of the reservation, supporting program, or by performing maintenance projects while living by the Scout Oath and Law.

Campmasters may volunteer to serve in one of 3 ways:

  • 1 - On a weekend host team
  • 2 - On a weekend maintenance team
  • 3 - As an individual at a Council workday

The weekend teams serve between August and May. Campmasters select their own time and frequency of service. They serve a minimum of two times a year on specific prearranged dates.

Campmaster Service Calendar

Campmaster teams sign up at the annual dinner for which weekends they will work for the next year.  Those sign-ups plus the events scheduled at each camp are shown on the Campmaster calendar by weekend.  The Campmaster calendar also shows holidays and other times when camp may be closed.  A copy of the Campmaster calendar is posted at each camp in the camp offices and at the link below.

2024 Campmaster Team Calendar

Each year hundreds of volunteers from across the Heart of America Council donate their time and talents to the operations of the Theodore Naish Scout Reservation and H Roe Bartle Scout Reservation by serving as part of the Campmaster Corps.

Bartle & Naish Camp Maintenance Skilled Trade Days

Heart of America Council, BSA is asking for your help to maintain our Camp facilities and to prepare for our year-round camping program. We have a long list of projects that need your help in accomplishing and completing. Please sign up by clicking the links below. Each day will start at 8:00 a.m. and end at 4:00 p.m. Meals will be provided.

Annual Recognition Dinner

The 2023 Campmaster Recognition Dinner is November 8, 2023. Check in begins at 5:30 with Dinner at 6:30pm.  The Dinner will be held at the Plumbers Local 8, 5950 Manchester Trafficway, Kansas City, MO 64130.  Please RSVP no later than Tuesday, November 1st.


Campmaster Trainings

Campmasters must maintain their training by completing HOAC training every two years.  There are two ways to complete this training: attend the annual training event or complete the training online. 

Online training is available.  Review the Campmaster Handbook (currently being updated), then successfully complete the online test to satisfy the training expectation.  Successful completion is considered 75% correct on the test.  Insert your name at the test login and use "Campmaster" as the passcode to begin your test session.

Council Campmaster Training

Campmaster Training will be held February 10, 2024 at Camp Naish. This training includes equipment, Campmaster responsibilities, emergency procedures, tools and RTV's/carts. All registered Heart of America Council members who will be driving an RTV or cart for the council, at camp or elsewhere, will need to attend and be trained.

 Register Here


Chainsaw Training

The Heart of America Council is blessed to have two great reservations totaling more than 5000 acres. The maintenance and upkeep of these reservations take a dedicated group of volunteers and professionals. Per BSA national standards, each chainsaw operator must have completed BSA approved training to be able to operate a chainsaw saw on the reservation. Chainsaw training allows Scouters to join the team of sawyers that performs the tree trimming and tree removal work that is required at our reservations. Our chainsaw training covers safe practices for handling these potentially dangerous tools.

2024- Chainsaw Training - May 17-19, 2024 @ T. Naish Scout Reservation

 Register Here


How do I join the Campmaster team?

Are you interested in being a Campmaster?

Campmaster volunteers must maintain a current Campmaster application on file with the Heart of America Council.  If you need to complete a Campmaster application you can do so by submitting it online. Once completed you will be contacted by one of the Campmaster Team members.

Maintenance Team Award Recipients

Without your efforts and hard work throughout the years, we would not have two great camps to deliver our quality programs to the Scouts of our Council. The highlight of each year is the awarding of the "Volunteers of the Year" and "Lifetime Achievement Awards". Congratulations to past recipients.

Volunteers of the Year Award

Year Naish Bartle


Mike McCurdy Bud Bly
2008 Tim Saint Danny Minnick
2009 Larry Sisk

Craig Jones

2010 Gary Bloomer & Stan Lloyd Chris Bessmer
2011 Russell Downing & Todd Whiteley H. Wayne Hoenshell & K. Ed Mynatt
2012 Bob Miller Kim Hein
2013 John Cookinham IV Mark Trammell
2014 Matt Macdonald Lee Perry
2014 Chuck Welsh Dennis Flinn
2015 Ray Graskemper Sr Richard Smart
2015 Henry Creagh Gabriel Smart
2015 Ray Graskemper Jr Joab Smart
2015   Samuel Smart
2015   Mark Walters
2016 Kevin Drescher Dave Mascal & Mike Meyers
2017 Mark Enke Gerald Gittinger
2018 Tom Pistorius & Darren Whitcher Bob Todd
2019 Tanner Couvelha & Wes Rutherford Jim Monteleone & Wes Rutherford
2020 Bob Euler Patrick Parks
2021 Mike McCauley Steve Busch
2022 Phil Parks Steve Eschbacher
2023 Kelsie Clark Ed Stoll


Lifetime Achievement Award





David Miller & Allan Boyd 

Clarence Stevens, Bob Moeder & Robert Hedberg


Gene Adams

Gene Young


Bob Gilner & Bill Whitenack

Lloyd Carpenter Sr. & West Rutherford


Kenny Long & Steve Campbell

Craig Jones


Bruce Coleman

Barry Slotnick & Bill Kirke





Tommy Dudley

Kenny Dannenbrock


Blair Pederson

Don Flinn


Russ Downing

Al Flatebo

2015 Gary Bloomer & John Cookinham Sr.     Ron Lynch & Danny Minnick
2016 Tom Bundy Dan Morales & Bill Crain
2017 Joe Pepper Eddie Mynatt
2018 Pat Parks Everett Cates
2019 Chuck Welsh Jake Jacobson
2020 Mark Enke Kim Hein
2021 Matt Ward April Hale
2022 John Cookinham IV Mark Trammell
2023 Tom Lanio Stan Lloyd