Marvin M. Lewis BPOE (Elks) Award

Marvin M. Lewis Award of the
Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks

Download the Nomination Form


Founded in 1868, the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks is one of the oldest and largest private organizations in the United States.  Today there are nearly 1.3 million members of the Elks in 2,200 local lodges found in all 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, and several overseas locations.  Lodges provide recreational facilities for the entire family, and they are the focal point for many community services and charitable programs.


The Marvin M. Lewis Award recognizes Elks in good standing who have significantly contributed to the youth of their communities by volunteering in the programs of the Boy Scouts of America. The Boy Scouts of America established the Marvin M. Lewis Award in 1998 in recognition of the Elks’ significant contributions to Scouting and the development of America’s youth.  

Marvin M. Lewis award winners are Elks who have brought Scouting to more youth, have assisted local Elks lodges in forming Scouting units, are fully trained in the skills of Scouting and are outstanding role models. These winners have also worked to bring Scouting and the Elks together to serve the community and have been instrumental in organizing scouting. The award is named for the Honorable Marvin M. Lewis, PGER, who has given such strong support to Scouting over the years.


The Grand Lodge invites all local Lodges to nominate ONE candidate for the award. Candidates must have the recommendation of their local Lodge and their local Scouting Council to be eligible. Each year eight Elks will receive Marvin M. Lewis Awards, which consists of a medal and ribbon, a framed certificate, a lapel pin and a square knot.

When selecting their candidate, Lodges were asked to consider Elks who:

  • Have brought Scouting to more youth.
  • Have assisted local Elks lodges in forming Scouting units.
  • Are fully trained in the skills of Scouting and are outstanding role models.
  • Have contributed significantly to Elks and Scouting by bringing the two movements together to serve the community.
  • Have offered Scouting to all youth regardless of race, creed, or income level, and has been instrumental in organizing Scouting units, especially in inner-city or other low--income communities.

The awards will be presented at the Grand Lodge Convention. Application forms may also be obtained from Grand Lodge Committeeman, or from any state Youth Activity Chairman.