National Court of Honor Lifesaving and Meritorious Action Awards


National awards for lifesaving and meritorious action are made only for outstanding and unusual acts that demonstrate unusual heroism, skill, or bravery and reflect Scouting ideals, based on the following criteria:

Heroism is defined as conduct exhibiting courage, daring, skill, and self-sacrifice.

Skill is defined as the ability to use one's knowledge effectively in execution or performance.  Special attention is given to skills earned in Scouting.

These awards may be awarded to any registered youth member or adult leader.  Click here to download the application of recommendation. After completing that form and providing all requested information & documentation, send it to the Council Office, Attention to the Program & Camping Department.


Honor Medal

Has demonstrated unusual heroism and skill or resourcefulness in saving or
attempting to save life at considerable risk to self.

Honor Medal With Crossed Palms

Has demonstrated unusual heroism and extraordinary skill or
resourcefulness in saving or attempting to save life at extreme risk to self.

Heroism Award

Has demonstrated heroism and skill in averting serious injury or saving
or attempting to save life at minimum risk to self.

Medal of Merit

Has performed an act of service of a rare or exceptional character that reflects an
uncommon degree of concern for the well-being of others.

National Certificate of Merit

Has performed a significant act of service that is deserving of special national recognition.
Note: If the action is deserving of merit, but does not qualify for a national award,
the Scout may be eligible for the Local Council Certificate of Merit, No. 33732.