Eagle Scouts Soar at Arrowhead

2016 Clark Hunt Eagle Scout Class Reception

On Sunday, March 5, a long-standing Kansas City Scouting tradition made the move to One Arrowhead Drive. Once held for more than 40 years at Kansas City’s Municipal Music Hall, the Heart of America Council’s Eagle Scout Class Reception swapped the stage for the gridiron at the University of Kansas Hospital Training Complex at One Arrowhead Drive.

Kansas City Chiefs CEO Clark Hunt hosted this year’s reception and served as the 2016 Eagle Scout Class honoree. Hunt addressed the near capacity crowd of more than 1,500 Eagle Scouts and their families and applauded them for reaching Scouting’s highest rank. The more than 300 Eagle Scouts in attendance were recognized with the 2016 Eagle Scout Class challenge coin and were all individually congratulated by Clark Hunt himself. 

In addition to honoring the 2016 Eagle Scout Class, this year’s reception also highlighted our Eagle Scout Project of the Year, Distinguished Scoutmaster of the Year, and National Outstanding Eagle Scout Award recipients.

Paul D. Arend Distinguished Scoutmaster
Scott Howell, Jr. | Troop 1282

The Paul D. Arend Distinguished Scoutmaster Award is presented annually to a Scoutmaster who has demonstrated a lifelong commitment to the values of the Scout Oath and Law and to the mentorship of Eagle Scouts. This year’s award was presented to Scott Howell, Jr., Scoutmaster of Troop 1282 chartered by Trinity Episcopal Church.

Eagle Scout Project of the Year
Nathan Riley | Troop 1376

The Glenn A. and Melinda W. Adams National Eagle Scout Service Project of the Year Award was presented to Nathan Riley from Troop 1376 in Liberty, MO. Nathan’s project involved the removal and rebuilding of a foot bridge at Immacolata Manor – a community living center that assists individuals with developmental disabilities.

National Outstanding Eagle Scout Award

The National Outstanding Eagle Scout Award honors Eagle Scouts who have demonstrated outstanding achievement and have made a positive impact in our community. This year’s honorees were Robbie Makinen, President and CEO of the Kansas City Area Transportation Authority, Todd Mackin, VP of Sales for the Missouri Mavericks, and Colonel Andrew Shoffner, Garrison Commander at Fort Leavenworth, KS.

Prior to the start of the ceremony, members of the 2016 and 1966 50th anniversary Eagle Scout classes, and distinguished guests, gathered for the official event photo. Click here to order your commemorative copy. 

KCTV5 was also on hand to capture some of the ceremony. Watch their report below.