2017 NOESA Recipients

Council honors area Eagle Scouts for service to KC

The National Outstanding Eagle Scout Award (NOESA) is a prestigious recognition presented to Eagle Scouts who have demonstrated outstanding achievement at the local, state, or regional level. Our 2017 recipients are community leaders whose efforts have made a positive impact in the Kansas City area.

Robbie Makinen
President and CEO, Kansas City Area Transportation Authority

Robbie Makinen became an Eagle Scout in 1978 and has spent much of his adult life in the area of public service. Robbie was the Services Director of Kansas City’s Ozanam
Children’s Center and during his time there, he recognized the critical need for transportation for this vulnerable population. Makinen’s sudden blindness made him dependent on public transportation and now feeds his passion for fixing the city’s transit system as the CEO of the Kansas City Area Transportation Authority.


Todd Mackin
Vice President of Sales, Missouri Mavericks

Todd Mackin is an Eagle Scout from the class of 1994. After years with the Kansas City Chiefs and the Northland Sports Alliance, Todd currently serves as the Vice President of Sales for the Missouri Mavericks. In his current role, Todd is responsible for overseeing all Missouri Mavericks sales initiatives. Todd hails from Kansas City, MO and attended Northwest Missouri State University and UMKC where he received degrees in Marketing and a Master’s in Business Administration.


Colonel Andrew Shoffner
Garrison Commander, Fort Leavenworth, KS

Colonel Shoffner received his Eagle Scout award in 1982. During his military career, Colonel Shoffner served in a variety of command and staff positions both in the United States and Germany. His leadership positions included Scout Platoon Leader, Tank Company Commander and Armored Reconnaissance Squadron Commander. He served four combat tours—three in Iraq, and one in Afghanistan. Colonel Shoffner currently serves as the Garrison Commander of Fort Leavenworth, Kansas, where he leads and manages a garrison of over 700 soldiers, civilian employees, and contractors supporting a population of approximately 35,000.

The 2017 National Outstanding Eagle Scout Awards will be presented on Sunday, March 5 in conjunction with the 2016 Clark Hunt Eagle Scout Class Reception. This year's event will be held at the University of Kansas Hospital Training Complex at one Arrowhead Drive. There is no cost to attend, but all attendees must pre-register.