2017 Kauffman Distinguished Eagle Scout Class

Scout Day at the K - April 30

Baseball is back in Kansas City! This Sunday, more than 12,000 Scouts and their families will head to the home of the Royals for one of the largest Scouting events in the country - Scout Day at the K. But more than just a day at the ballpark, Scout Day at the K will also honor Eagle Scouts for making a difference. Named in honor of Eagle Scout and former Kansas City Royals owner Ewing M. Kauffman, the Kauffman Distinguished Eagle Scout Award honors adult Eagle Scouts for their positive contributions to the Kansas City community. 

David Dillon
David Dillon is the former CEO and Chairman of the Board of Directors for the Kroger Company. Growing up in Hutchinson, Kansas, David earned his Eagle Scout award in 1963 as a member of Troop 301.

Bishop James Johnston 
Bishop James Johnston is the Bishop of the Catholic Diocese of Kansas City-St. Joseph. He was born in Knoxville, Tennessee and earned his Eagle Scout award in 1977 with Troop 557.


Doug Price
Doug Price is the Owner and President of Price Brothers Management Company. An Overland Park, Kansas native, Doug achieved the rank of Eagle Scout in 1974 with Troop 61.


Seth Sinovic
Born in Leawood, KS, Seth Sinovic grew up playing soccer and is now a professional soccer player for Sporting Kansas City. Seth became an Eagle Scout in 2002 as a member of Troop 395.


Willard Snyder
Willard Snyder is the Attorney and Chairman of the Breidenthal-Snyder Foundation. Born in Kansas City, Kansas, Willard earned the rank of Eagle Scout in 1958 with Troop 7.


The Heart of America Council established the Ewing M. Kauffman Distinguished Eagle Scout Award in cooperation with the Kauffman Foundation in 2010. The award recognizes adult Eagle Scouts who have excelled in their careers and have provided exemplary service to their community. Ewing M. Kauffman earned his Eagle badge in 1932 as a member of Boy Scout Troop and Ship 100 at Faxon School in Kansas City, Missouri. Mr. K was active in Scouting throughout his life.

This year’s Ewing M. Kauffman Distinguished Eagle Scout Awards will be presented on the field shortly before first-pitch at 1:15 pm.