Distinguished Commissioner Service Award Knot


To upgrade Commissioner Service and to recognize Commissioners and Exploring Service Team members who are providing quality service.


  • Complete training as outlined by the local council, including earning the Scouter's Key for Commissioners.
  • Serve as an active commissioner or an active Exploring service team member for 5 consecutive years and be currently registered with the Boy Scouts of America.
  • Recharter at least 90 percent of the units in your area of service for a minimum of the past 2 consecutive years. this applies to council commissioners, assistant council commissioners, district commissioners, assistant district commissioners, unit commissioners, council Exploring service team chairpersons, division/district/cluster Exploring service team chairpersons, and Exploring service team members.
  • Assist units so that more than 50 percent achieve National Quality Unit Award in your area of service for a minimum of the past 2 consecutive years.
  • Roundtable/huddle commissioner recognition is based on completing requirements No. 1 and No. 2 listed above, plus the following. In place of items No. 3 and No. 4, roundtable/huddle commissioners are to conduct at least nine roundtables/huddles per year for the past 2 consecutive years.


The following recognition items are available from the Supply Division:

  • Distinguished Commissioner Service Award Plaque
  • Distinguished Commissioner Service Bolo Tie

The title on both commissioner recognitions will read, "Distinguished Commissioner. The plaque is approximately 5 x 7 inches. The medallion is cast in three colors:

  • Council Commissioner -- silver
  • District Commissioner, Assistant District Commissioner, and Roundtable Commissioners -- gold
  • Unit Commissioner -- bronze

The title on both Exploring recognitions will read "Distinguished Service Team.

  • Distinguished Explorer Service Team members -- silver

An embroidered square knot (silver knot on red background, may also be presented.

Local councils certify the eligibility of individuals, and present the recognition. (There is no national application.)