Kaw District

District Service Area

The Kaw District serves the counties of Wyandotte, Leavenworth, and northeast Johnson in Kansas and includes the school districts:  Easton; Ft. Leavenworth; Leavenworth; Lansing; Piper; Basehor-Linwood; Tonganoxie; Bonner Springs/Edwardsville; Kansas City Kansas; Turner; and Shawnee Mission. The Kaw District and the Heart of America Council is dedicated to supporting the volunteer Scout leaders as they provide the programs of the Boy Scouts of America to the youth in this area.

Units & Commissioner Assignments

District Banquet Nominations: 

District Award of Merit: Microsoft Word - District Award of Merit.doc (hoac-bsa.org) ( nominations must be turned in by the November 24,2023)


 Like and follow us on Facebook to stay up-to-date!

Sign Up for Kaw News

What's New

Fall 2022 Cub Scout Family Campout - Thank you for attending! 

2023 Fundraising

If you would like to help us change lives please consider giving to the 2023 Kaw District Community Campaign. Your gift matters, stays local, and impacts youth in the counties we serve in Kaw! Please contact Brandon if you would like to help the district with our fundraising campaign! 

District Merger

On August 1, 2020 the Kaw District merged with the Shawnee Trails District to better serve the youth in the Leavenworth and Wyandotte counties, and the Shawnee Mission School District. The merger of these two districts have formed the new Kaw District. District leadership is currently working together to ensure that commitments for both districts like school night, training, and other activities are held as planned. To learn more about the merger please visit here. Your district leadership has grown and looks forward to serving you during this time. Please do not hesitate to reach out to anyone on the District Leadership contact list for questions or concerns.


Title Name Phone Number
District Chairman Steve Croft  913.747.8550
District Commissioner Marshall Hollingsworth 913.522.6785
District Director Brandon Gawel 816.569.4974
District Executive Stephanie Kalthoff 816.569.4973


Currently Roundtable is being held on the first Thusday of the month, at Bonner Methodist Church, starting at 7pm; except for the May Roundtable which will be held at Camp Naish! The Eagle project reviews and Eagle Board of Reviews will be handled in-person --  For information on the Eagle process, please see the Advancement page. Eagle process in May 2023 will be held at Bonner United Methodist Church!

Brandon Gawel

Brandon Gawel

District Director

Kaw District

Stephanie Kalthoff

District Executive


9948 Metcalf Avenue, Bonner Springs, KS 66012
Thursday, Dec 14 (7:00PM - 8:00PM)
425 W. Morse Avenue, Bonner Springs, KS 66012
Thursday, Jan 4 (6:30PM - 7:00PM)
425 W. Morse Avenue, Bonner Springs, KS 66012
Thursday, Jan 4 (7:00PM - 8:00PM)