Endowment Recognition

The Heart of America Council Heritage Society

The Heart of America Council Heritage Society recognizes contributors to the Heart of America Council Endowment Fund. The objective of The Heritage Society is to encourage men and women who believe in Scouting to invest in its future by making an outright or deferred gift, thereby becoming lifetime members with appropriate recognition and privileges.

The program is highlighted by an annual reception to recognize all new Heritage Society Members and thank all current lifetime members.

To become a lifetime member, an individual must donate $1,000.00 (James E. West Fellowship Award) or more, in the form of an outright gift, to the Endowment Fund. An individual may also become a lifetime member by notifying the council of any deferred gift commitment to the Endowment Fund.
Lifetime members of The Heritage Society are recognized by a personalized certificate, a lapel or ladies' pin, and their name on a plaque in the Starr Scout Service Center.

The James E. West Fellowship Award

The James E. West Fellowship Award is a national recognition for those who contribute $1,000 or more in cash or securities to their local council endowment trust fund. This contribution is in addition to, and should not diminish or replace, the donor's gift to the council's annual Investment in Character campaign. The award is named after the first Chief Scout Executive of the Boy Scouts of America who exemplified Ralph Waldo Emerson's observation that "an institution is the lengthened shadow of one man". Recognition items include a personalized certificate, square knot, lapel pin and their name on a plaque for display in the Starr Scout Service Center.

1910 Society

The 1910 Society was created to encourage even more significant gifts to council endowment trust funds. It was named in recognition of the year in which the visionary early leaders founded the BSA.

Those who make gifts now, to further endow Scouting, are themselves modern-day visionaries. It is appropriate, therefore, that these visionaries be recognized for their help in ensuring the Scouting legacy for future generations of young Americans. These donors will play a large part in the financial stability of the BSA local councils in the twenty-first century.


To qualify, an individual donor, a company, or an organization must donate $25,000 or more to the local council endowment fund. Recognition will be given for gifts of cash, stocks, bonds, lead trusts, or other assets that can easily be converted to cash. Pledges are acceptable, but they must be honored within five years of the pledge date.


Members will receive a membership certificate and a leather-bound edition of the Boy Scout Handbook with their name embossed in gold on the cover. In addition, a distinctive lapel pin is also available. The level of giving is distinguished by the color of stone on the pin.

The names selected for the recognition levels of the 1910 Society were drawn from some of our most significant early visionaries:

Levels of Recognition

$25,000 minimum Ernest Thompson Seton Member
$100,000 minimum Daniel Carter Beard Member
$500,000 minimum Theodore Roosevelt Member
$1,000,000 minimum Waite Phillips Member